The Legend of the Easter Robin by Dandi Mackall–Book Review

_240_360_Book.1809.coverWhen Tressa discovers a robin building her nest outside one of her grandmother’s windows, she becomes very enthralled with it. She watches as the robin builds a nest and eventually lays some eggs in the nest, but then a frost comes. Tressa worries about the family of robins and whether or not the eggs will make it through the cold, as well as whether other animals will get to the eggs. Tressa’s grandmother tells her the story of the legend of the robin and how it got it’s red breast as they prepare for Easter.

This was a wonderful story that reminds us of the true meaning of Easter through the story of the robin. It uses the symbolism of the red breast as a visual reminder that we can use every time we see a robin. I had never heard this story and I loved it! I plan to give this to my girls as an Easter present, but I know they will love it was well. It was beautifully illustrated by Richard Cowdrey.

**I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 < http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

