The Mountain Midwife by Laurie Alice Eakes–Book Review

26263488.jpgAshley Tolliver is a midwife in the mountains of Virginia, but she wants to take her career to the next level and attend medical school. She comes from a long line of midwives, nearly 200 years worth to be exact. But when a city boy comes to town looking for help and answers, she begins to think about all that her dream entails, leaving the community she’s not only grown up in, but has committed herself to serving and helping.

This was a brilliant romance. I was captivated from the very beginning. The characters are complex, but easy to relate to. I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next. I was sad to see the book end. I love books that point to God, and this was no exception. A few times the characters had tough decisions to make, and they always turned to God to help them with these decisions. This was the first of Eakes books I have read, but if the rest of her books are like this one, I will be finding every one. In short, I highly recommend this book!

**I received this book free from the publisher through The Fiction Guild, a Thomas Nelson/Zondervan book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 < http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

