The Carols of Christmas–book review

9780718031527Do you ever wonder what the history behind your favorite Christmas carols is? This book is filled with the stories of the origins of twenty-one Christmas carols. At the end of each account is that particular carol’s music and words.

I’m not going to lie; I was a bit disappointed with this book. I love to learn the stories behind my favorite songs, but this book is different. While most hymns have specific stories of their origin with a specific author, I’ve learned that most of our Christmas carols are so old it takes a bit more digging to find their origins. While it was educational, I just could not get into the book. I would recommend this book to anybody who wants a detailed history with lots of facts about these carols. Overall, it was a well-written book dripping with lots of history, but it just wasn’t for me.

**I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 < http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

