A Respectable Actress by Dorothy Love–Book Review

51lcxid7DDL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_When India Hartley arrived in Savannah, she never dreamed of the horrible events that would take place. Accused of murder, she must depend on her lawyer, Philip Sinclair, to help her prove her innocence. After getting permission for India to come back to his home on St. Simons island until her trial date, India discovers a locked door in the house that seems to be a shrine to his wife who died tragically. This room raises questions in India’s mind and after finding a few clues in an abandoned boat and a burned down chapel, she unravels secrets that lead back to Philip himself, and may lead to her freedom.

This story is set in Georgia during the post Civil War era. I found both the story and the characters to be very well developed. I loved the twists and turns that are thrown in to keep you on your toes. It was hard to put down. There were times, I’ll admit, where I wondered so much what was going to happen next that I had to stop myself from looking forward in the book to cheat to see the outcome, so I’d know what was coming. I can’t wait to read more of Dorothy Love’s books. If you love historical fiction with suspense and romance mixed in, this is the perfect read for you!

**I was sent this book from the Fiction Guild through Zondervan/Thomas Nelson publishers free for review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

