The Argument-Free Marriage by Fawn Weaver–Book Review

Do you feel like you and your spouse argue too much? According to Fawn Weaver, you can have an argument-free marriage. Something she claims she and her husband of 11 years have. She challenges couples to take 28 days to learn how to live without bitter arguments.

I will say that while I believe the information in this book is helpful in avoiding arguments and contains lots of good tips to help your marriage, I still don’t think that it’s possible to never argue. She defines an argument as “an exchange of diverging or opposite views, typically a heated or angry one” (page 18 of the book). We do agree that you are bound to disagree with each other, but you don’t have to argue over disagreements, you can talk it out or use other methods to help solve your disagreements without saying things in anger that you’ll regret later. In one chapter she talks about a disagreement where she took a 6 hour walk to cool down so she didn’t end up having a heated argument with her husband. I don’t know about you, but if I disappeared for 6 hours my husband and I probably would have a bigger argument than if I’d just counted to 10 and stayed. All in all, I would recommend the book for advice on how to argue less or strategies on how to handle disagreements without necessarily hurting each others’ feelings, because I still just don’t believe you can truly have an “argument-free marriage.”

**Disclaimer: I’m not advocating having vicious arguments, or saying things to hurt your spouse. I believe that we should take these strategies and attempt to avoid arguments and discuss disagreements in a calm manner without anger as much as possible. I just don’t think you can always avoid arguments. It’s human nature and it’s something that is bound to happen.

** I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Leave a Reply

