Hiding His Word in Our Hearts

BibleAs Christians, we know how important it is to memorize Scripture. However, knowing and doing are two very different things. If you are like me, you fall behind in this important task. We make excuses, like I can’t memorize, or I don’t have time. Seriously though, we can remember things such as lyrics to a song, or lines to our favorite show/movie, or even the exact words someone may have said that hurt us, so why do we not try to memorize more Scripture. After all, one day we may lose our Bibles, what then? We are very fortunate to live in a country where we have that freedom to have our Bible, but some countries are not so fortunate. If it should come to the place where we should lose that freedom (which I hope it never does) we should have some of it memorized to remember when we need it, to comfort us, to guide us, and to encourage us. I used to write my verses that I wanted to work on on a 3×5 index card and carry it with me to read throughout the day. Sometimes, if I was struggling with a specific problem, I would look verses up that would help me and take them with me. When I worked, I used to take my index card and put it under my keyboard to slide out to look at. I struggled with gossip a lot, so I would slide the card under my keyboard and read the verse any time I was tempted to gossip, then slide it back under my keyboard. This worked, but I would lose my card, or forget it, or just ignore it, so it didn’t always work for me.

This weekend I heard of an app you can download to help you memorize Scripture, called Scripture Typer. It sounds almost too good to be true, but I thought, I’ll give it a shot. Let me just say it has been the best app ever! I can pick out the verses I want to memorize and the version I want to memorize in and go to it. It even has reviews to help you stay on top of the verses you have already memorized. How it works is you go to the app, pick your verse then you simply type the verse. There are 3 stages Type It, Memorize It and Master It. You can repeat each stage as many times as you want until you have the verse down. In the first stage, Type It, you do simply that type the verse (you can either type every word, or just the first letters of the words, I prefer the first letter because if you misspell something it counts against you or if you type to fast sometimes it can’t keep up). In the second stage, Memorize It,  it takes out some of the words and you type it again filling in the missing words along the way. The third stage, Master It, is where you type the whole verse with no helps. Like I said, I was skeptical at first, but from Saturday until today (Tuesday) I have mastered 10 verses! For me, that’s amazing! My goal is to memorize the entire chapter of Psalm 91 (16 verses). After that I’ll pick another passage.

So I encourage you to check out the app, and see if you would benefit from it!

Get the app here: Scripture Typer

Leave a Reply

