Ever Wonder About Becoming a Book Reviewer?

Do you love to read? Do you like to write? Would you like to receive free books? Well, if you answered yes, maybe being a book reviewer is for you!

I made the decision to review books for a couple reasons. I love to read, I just couldn’t find the time to read. Between work and taking care of my kids, I didn’t have any extra time. I loved to look through bookstores at all the fabulous bookstores. Stick me in Ollie’s Bargain Outlet and I could go crazy at their rock bottom prices on great books! (If you haven’t been to an Ollie’s go to their website and find one near you, they have amazing deals on everything, but my personal favorite is their book selection!)

My first reason was that I really do love to read. I started to hear about people that review books, and wondered what was entailed. I started researching, and was very intrigued. I decided that one way to motivate myself would be to review books because most of the time blogger review programs have a specific time frame to read your book and post your review. This would motivate me to keep reading and not just start my book and lay it on the shelf or nightstand to collect dust for the next 3 months.

My second reason was who doesn’t like to get free books? I mean I will pay for a good book, but with these review programs, you receive the book for free in return for your review (good or bad). Most of the time they are books that are new releases, not all the time mind you, but for the most part I’ve found most of the books are new on the market.

If you are interested in becoming a book reviewer check out my favorites below.

BookLook – www.booklookbloggers.com – This site has both print and ebooks from Zondervan and Thomas Nelson and ebooks from WestBow Press

Bethany House – Once you are approved, you will get emails from them about the books available that month and then you have to click one you would like to review (if any). They will then send a separate email to let you know if you are on the list to receive the book you chose.

Tyndale Blog Network – www.tyndaleblognetwork.com – books from Tyndale House Publishers

Moody Press – www.mpnewsroom.com – I love their books, but sometimes I have issues with their server. I still absolutely love their program, so many great books to choose from! Some of the authors include Nancy Leigh Demoss and Gary Chapman just to name a few.

BloggingforBooks – www.bloggingforbooks.com – Randomhouse publishers, I get a few from here and they have a great variety.

B&H Publishers – www.BHPublishinggroup.com – This one is fairly new to me, but I’ve loved each of the books I’ve received from them.

Each site has their own rules, but most require you to post your review to your blog, a retail site (Amazon, Christianbook, etc.), as well as on their site. What are you waiting for? Go check them out, see if it’s for you, and sign up to review. It’s so much fun, and so rewarding.

In the meantime, check out my recommended books page, it has links to many of my book reviews.

One thought on “Ever Wonder About Becoming a Book Reviewer?

  1. Reblogged this on Lights in a Dark World and commented:

    I posted this a couple of years ago, but it still holds true! I’ve had a few people ask me how to start reviewing books. I have truly enjoyed reviewing books. I have had opportunities to be a part of a few other book review programs.

    Two not mentioned here are the Fiction Guild through Zondervan and Thomas Nelson, and the other is CelebrateLit Bloggers Program. Both have been amazing opportunities for me.

    Seriously, if you are any bit interested, look into it. It’s well worth it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

