When Garbie the Goat Came to Our House

While getting ready to go run some errands one day last week, I hear my 3-year-old daughter talking behind me. I turn around to see her intently talking to something behind the toilet. I asked her what she was doing. Her reply? “Mommy, my goat is stuck behind the potty.” I was a little confused, but I played along and turned back around to finish my makeup.

“Mommy, he won’t come out. He’s stuck. Can you please help me get him out.” she asked.

“I can’t help at the moment, but if you keep trying I’m sure he’ll come out.” I replied as I hurried to get the diaper bag ready and clothes ready for her and the baby. “What’s his name?” I asked, as this was starting to get interesting and her imagination is fascinating.

“Garby, Garby the goat.” she said.

Now in my head I’m thinking, “Garby must be in one of her shows, because even given her imagination and vast vocabulary, that’s not just a name she’d come up with.” I didn’t think much more about it, and she didn’t say any more about him until we left.

As I’m backing out of the driveway, I hear from the backseat, “Mommy, we forgot to let Garbie out to play with Axel while we are gone.”

“I’m sure if he could get behind the toilet, he can get out and play with Axel by himself.” I quickly said hoping that would satisfy and avoid a tantrum over an imaginary goat.

“But the door is shut,” she quickly replied half frantically.

“I’m sure that since he got behind our toilet, he is probably capable of unlocking and opening the door to play with Axel.” I explained. It worked, she dropped it, and told everybody she saw the next few days about Garbie and how he was behind our toilet.

A few days later, I was intrigued as to where Garbie came from and how he got behind our toilet, so I asked, “Is Garbie from one of your shows?”

“Yes.”

Garbie the Goat in the show Paw Patrol.

Garbie the Goat in the show Paw Patrol.

“Which one?” She couldn’t remember, so I went on to my next question.

“Well how did Garbie get here?” I asked waiting for a rather interesting explanation…she didn’t disappoint.

“He was in one of my shows, and then one day when the boys were here, he just appeared behind our potty.”

After some more questions she just kept insisting he disappeared out of her show and appeared behind our toilet. Since she couldn’t remember what show, I really became curious so I googled Garbie the Goat. Apparently Garbie the Goat is from Paw Patrol, and if any of you have toddlers I’m sure you are familiar with Paw Patrol. While I don’t remember the episode, apparently in one of the episodes the pups have to save poor Garbie from a ledge. Apparently, he made an impression on my toddler. He wasn’t the first, and I’m sure he won’t be the last of her imaginary friends.

Life with an imaginative toddler is humorous (and sometimes downright hilarious). I love all the interesting stories she comes up with, and I love to watch her use her imagination as she plays. Being a mom is the most rewarding and interesting job I could have! I’m sure some of you can relate!

Leave a Reply

