Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 9

Chapter 9

This chapter talks about how we can crush our husband’s dreams, or cause him to dream about an alternate life he could have if his wife was different. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want my husband wishing I was different. I want to be the one he wants to come home to. I don’t want him daydreaming about a wife that supports his dreams no matter how crazy they seem. Mrs. Pearl states in this chapter that we should “ask God to help you know and appreciate your man.” I really liked how she put it when she said,

“Pray that God will give you wisdom and grace to share your man’s dreams so it will always be you he dreams about.” –Debi Pearl, Created to be His Help Meet

I’ll admit it, I want my husband to daydream about me. I don’t want him daydreaming about some other wife that supports him better than me. I want to support him. As I told you in the summary of Chapter 8, I’m married to a Mr. Visionary so I have had some practice at supporting my husband. Granted I’ve only been married 6 years, and I’m sure some of you reading this have been married a lot longer than me. I am by no means perfect, and I’m still learning to just go with the flow, but I have learned that it is better to go with the flow than to argue about it. Honestly, some of the crazy ideas end up turning out pretty cool, and sometimes my husband realizes that some crazy ideas won’t work as well as he thought they would. For example, my husband bought me a house last year. It was an estate and was a good deal, he didn’t even tell me he bought it, and had never gone through it, just looked in the windows. It was such a good deal he knew if we didn’t like it we could flip it. Guess what? I love my house, and it needed some TLC but we moved in like a month or two after we bought it, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Some people think we’re crazy, some people think I’m crazy, but I say I support my husband, and it’s been a great ride so far these almost 6 years of marriage. I’m looking forward to many more years to come who knows where we’ll end up!

For more information on the Pearls, other books they have published, or to get your own copy of Created to be His Help Meet check out their website here.

For my thoughts on previous chapters click the links below:

Chapter 1                       Chapter 5

Chapter 2                      Chapter 6

Chapter 3                      Chapter 7

Chapter 4                      Chapter 8

11 thoughts on “Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 9

  1. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 10 | Lights in a Dark World

  2. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 11 | Lights in a Dark World

  3. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 12 | Lights in a Dark World

  4. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 13 | Lights in a Dark World

  5. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 14 | Lights in a Dark World

  6. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 15 | Lights in a Dark World

  7. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 16 | Lights in a Dark World

  8. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 17 | Lights in a Dark World

  9. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 18 | Lights in a Dark World

  10. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 18 | Lights in a Dark World

  11. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 20 | Lights in a Dark World

Leave a Reply

