I Can Learn the Bible by Holly Hawkins Shivers–Book Review

_240_360_Book_1448_coverI Can Learn the Bible is a 52 week devotional for children that encourages them to memorize Bible verses throughout the year. There is one verse for each week of the year, and each devotion explains the verse that the children are supposed to focus on memorizing that week.

This devotional for children was wonderful! I love that it encourages children to memorize the Bible. It has wonderful explanations of the verses that children can understand, and is beautifully illustrated. I will say that I think it is more for older children than for preschoolers, I’d say for at least children five and older. I read the first couple to my three-year old, and I think it was a little above her head. I plan on waiting a year or two before I read it with her again, so she’ll understand the explanations better. I do like all the verses they picked for children to memorize, and I have been working on memorizing them with my daughter. I completely recommend this book for parents to read with their children.

 

**I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

