Striving to be the Best Help Meet–What I Learned from Created to Be His Help Meet

I have read Created to Be His Help Meet by Debi Pearl twice now, and every time I read it I find something new. I have learned so much from this book to help me be the best wife I can possibly be for my husband. I think I could read it again and again and again because let’s face it we can always improve. I decided to start a series of posts going chapter by chapter through the book telling what I personally have learned from it. If you haven’t read this book yet, I highly recommend you get a copy and read it.

So here goes….

Chapter 1 – God’s Gift

God created us to be help meets to our husbands. We need to help our husbands so that he can be the best he can be. We need to be his biggest cheerleader. I found it especially encouraging that she addresses that just because we are to submit doesn’t mean we are any less important than he is. She points out that if he can trust you as his wife, you’ll be the one he confides in, the one he comes to for advice, etc. As a help meet you won’t need a “honey-do list,” but we will see what needs done and know what he would like to see done and just do it. I have started to implement this into my life personally. I may not get half of my to-do list done, but I find that if I can just get the living room straightened up and the toys put mostly away and dinner made before my husband gets home it makes him happier than to come home from work to a house that is overrun with toys and you can’t walk through the house without tripping over something. Granted, I’m not perfect and there are still days my house is a wreck when my husband comes through the door and dinner is still thawing on the counter. Basically I have made it my ultimate goal to make our home a sanctuary where my husband can come home and feel like he can relax. I’m not going to lie it’s hard work keeping your home clean especially with young children. I have found if I take the time to do my devotions and pray, it seems like I start my day off better than on the days that I miss that time.

As we go through this book, I pray that maybe something I’ve learned will be an encouragement to even just one of you, and maybe you can learn something as well!

For more information on the Pearls and other books they have published you can visit their website below:

www.nogreaterjoy.org

To purchase a copy of the book click here.

 

 

19 thoughts on “Striving to be the Best Help Meet–What I Learned from Created to Be His Help Meet

  1. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet Chapter 3 | Lights in a Dark World

  2. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 2 | Lights in a Dark World

  3. Pingback: Striving to Be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 4 | Lights in a Dark World

  4. Pingback: Striving to Be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 5 | Lights in a Dark World

  5. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 6 | Lights in a Dark World

  6. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 7 | Lights in a Dark World

  7. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 8 | Lights in a Dark World

  8. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 9 | Lights in a Dark World

  9. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 10 | Lights in a Dark World

  10. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 11 | Lights in a Dark World

  11. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 12 | Lights in a Dark World

  12. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 13 | Lights in a Dark World

  13. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 14 | Lights in a Dark World

  14. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 15 | Lights in a Dark World

  15. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 16 | Lights in a Dark World

  16. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 17 | Lights in a Dark World

  17. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 18 | Lights in a Dark World

  18. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 19 | Lights in a Dark World

  19. Pingback: Striving to be the Best Help Meet–Chapter 20 | Lights in a Dark World

Leave a Reply

