Love Letters from God by Glenys Nellist – book review

love lettersIn this book, the author takes popular Bible stories and retells them for children of all ages, each story is accompanied by beautiful illustrations. It starts with the story of creation and works it’s way through the Bible and ends with the story of the Resurrection. It also has a special letter from God that you can personalize with your child’s name and read to them as their personal letter that God wrote to them to further explain the lesson of the story.

I love this book for so many reasons. I plan on using it as a devotional for my daughters and reading one story along with the corresponding Bible passage each night before bedtime. I love how the author retells the story. She uses many details and keeps it on a level that will keep children interested. I also think that the personalized letters from God at the end of each story adds a great teaching tool that emphasizes the lesson that is being conveyed through each story. One thing that stuck out to me that I didn’t care for is that she called Mary and Joseph Jesus’ mom and dad, since Joseph is not Jesus dad. I did notice that in one of the other stories later she points out that Jesus is God’s Son, but that was the only thing that stood out to me. I would highly recommend this book for parents to help teach their children the Bible.

**Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the booklook bloggers program (www.booklookbloggers.com). I was not required to write a positive review; these are my own opinions. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Leave a Reply

