Grocery Shopping Blues

grocery shoppingI don’t know about you, but I absolutely hate going grocery shopping. I feel like I spend way too much money on groceries and have nothing to show for it. I admit I try to use coupons whenever I can, but sometimes even with a coupon it’s cheaper to buy the off brand. I try to bargain shop, but where I live we don’t have many options, it’s Wal-Mart, Martin’s (Giant), or Save-A-Lot. I would love to go to Save-A-Lot more, but it’s so far out of the way and one of them is located where my husband won’t let me go alone. I do try to price match when I can, but I still feel like I’m overspending. I’ve read some other blog posts floating around and I feel inspired to try a different route. A few weeks ago my debit card was compromised and I was out of checks, so I had to take cash to the market. Knowing I only had a specific amount of money in my pocket and I didn’t want to go over that, I really stuck to my list and was able to get a few extra things just by knowing I could only spend that amount, I also kept track of every penny I was putting into my buggy. This is what really made me think I needed to revamp the way I’ve been shopping. So starting this week when that paycheck hits the bank, I’m going to sit down with my husband and figure out what we think I should spend and get that amount of cash out for the month and take a certain amount out of the envelope every week for my groceries. I’m also going to hit all the coupon websites and compare to the sale papers to try to get the best “bang for my buck.” I watch these extreme couponers and think that would be awesome to be able to do that, but to be honest I don’t want a huge stockpile in my basement…nor do I NEED that. Now don’t get me wrong, some things are worth stocking up on if it’s the right price. I stock up on disposable razors, toothbrushes, and toothpaste when the price is right. I’m just saying I have no room for 20 boxes of cereal or 30 gallons of ice cream…I have limited space as it is. We use my paycheck to pay a few of the smaller bills and cover groceries and the gas for my car, my husband takes care of the larger bills and his business expenses (this is just what works for us), so I’m hoping that I can cut enough that my paycheck is not running out at the end of the month when the last few bills come out. Pray for me as I attempt to save us money and become more frugal.

Leave a Reply

