What’s in a Name?

Coming up with baby names proves to be hard for my husband and me. We come up with one, and inevitably one of us doesn’t like the other’s suggestion. We have come up with a few we both like, but then after a few weeks it wears off and we look some more. I’m sure we’re not the only couple in the world who has had this dilemma. Luckily we still have a few more months, but as I read through the baby name book I find myself thinking “this poor baby girl is going to be nameless!” Now I know eventually we’ll find one we like and stick with it before baby is born, but it still makes this mommy a bit anxious.

Reading through the baby name book has enlightened me that some people really don’t think about what they name their children. Some of the suggestions in the book I read and think, “Do people actually name their children these names?”  I have the book “100,000 plus Baby Names” and in the front section it has different categories before you get to the alphabetical listings. (I always start there because it’s just more intriguing to me, but alas, I have finished that section with no luck, so now I feel like I’m literally reading the dictionary to find names.) There is a section called Disney names, it lists names such as Minnie, Aurora, Cinderella, etc., but as you get near the bottom of the list for girls it suggests Tinkerbell. I mean it’s cute, I just can’t ever imagine naming the baby Tinkerbell. I could see if it was a nickname, but it just never occurred to me that it could be her legal name. Naming a child is serious business, I mean they have to live with it for the rest of their life. Some names can cause taunting from the kids at school. Or you could name your child a name that has a bad stigma. We have a great responsibility as parents not just in raising our children right and raising them to love and serve the Lord, but right down to naming them. It may sound like something so simple, but we should definitely pray about what we name our children. (Sad to say, as I’m typing this I realized I haven’t done this, and maybe that’s why we can’t seem to come up with the perfect name and agree on it, so starting today I will be praying every day we come up with a name we both like and agree on!)

Leave a Reply

