A Merry Heart

While doing my devotions this week I have read a few times about having a merry heart. I’ve been re-reading “Created to be His Helpmeet” by Debi Pearl in my personal devotions (which I love by the way!), but today I just read a Proverb for the day and it happened to be Proverbs 15. Both pointed out the importance of having a merry heart. I felt like “Ok God, this must be something I need to work on in my life.” Proverbs 15:13 (KJV) it says,

“A merry heart maketh a cheerful countenance: but by sorrow of the heart the spirit is broken.”

Now I remember in my book that the author points out that we need to have a merry heart and not be complainers and grumblers. I remember that hitting home, because I have a tendency to complain about things. I don’t want my husband or my children to always see/hear me complaining about things. I want to be an encouragement to them. I’m sure after a long day the last thing my husband wants to hear is me complain about how everything went wrong today or what needs done on his honey-do list that’s been on there forever. I don’t want to complain so much that he dreads getting home from work. I want him to be excited to get home from work and not have to listen to all the bad things that happened for me all day. For the past few days I have been trying to not complain as much. Besides I want a cheerful countenance and I want my children to be cheerful as well. Now I know there will still be times I complain and I won’t always be cheerful, but I want to be positive and focus on what I do have and as Paul says in Philippians 4:11 (KJV),

“Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.”

I want to be content with whatever I have, whether we have a massive house full of all the latest and greatest or whether we have nothing. I pray that the Lord gives me a merry heart and a content spirit, and that I will exemplify that to my children.

Leave a Reply

